Artsmith’s 2017 Artist Residency Fellows

In celebration of its ten-year anniversary, Artsmith commences the annual, juried residency on January 2, 2017. Five artists—Benjamin Gucciardi, Peter Kline, Melissa Mathewson, Jennifer Moore, and Krista Varela—have been meticulously chosen by the Peer Review Panel to spend a week at the Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island, delving into their respective artistic endeavors.

To enhance the tenth-anniversary festivities, six additional artists have been invited to partake in Artsmith’s inaugural Madrona Artist Residency. This interdisciplinary, invitation-only program caters to distinguished artists, writers, and scholars. Named after the Pacific Madrona, symbolizing determination and tenacity along the North American west coast, the Madrona Residency honors individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to their fields despite challenges.

The 2017 Artsmith residency fellows are:

  1. Winifred Chapin Young: An eclectic, multi-disciplinary artist with a background in performance art, dance, visual art, and poetry.
  2. Tracy Daugherty: An accomplished author with four novels, six short story collections, biographies, and essays, including the upcoming book “LET US BUILD US A CITY.”
  3. Benjamin Gucciardi: A poet residing in Berkeley, California, recognized for his work in various journals and his involvement with refugee and immigrant youth through Soccer Without Borders.
  4. Wendy J. Katz: Associate professor of art history at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, with publications exploring regional networks in art.
  5. Peter Kline: A Creative Writing teacher at the University of San Francisco and Stanford University, known for his poetry collection “Deviants.”
  6. Melissa Mathewson: Residing on a small mountain homestead in Oregon, Melissa is an MFA holder working on a collection of lyric essays.
  7. Jennifer Moore: Author of “The Veronica Maneuver” and “What the Spigot Said,” Jennifer is an assistant professor at Ohio Northern University.
  8. Kenneth M. Price: Hillegass University Professor of American Literature at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and co-director of The Walt Whitman Archive.
  9. Marjorie Sandor: An accomplished author with works including the memoir “The Late Interiors: A Life Under Construction” and an essay collection “The Night Gardener: A Search for Home.”
  10. Krista Varela: Holding an MFA in Creative Nonfiction, Krista is a lecturer and contributor for literary journals.
  11. John T. Young: A sculptor and Professor Emeritus of Art and Landscape Architecture, recognized for creating large-scale outdoor public artworks.

These talented individuals represent the diverse and dynamic artistic community at the heart of Artsmith’s mission.

Brands We Work With

bachelor thesis ghostwriter preis